|| Training Course || - Reisverslag uit Buxton, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Fabiënne Zwam - WaarBenJij.nu || Training Course || - Reisverslag uit Buxton, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Fabiënne Zwam - WaarBenJij.nu

|| Training Course ||

Door: Fabiënne

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Fabiënne

28 April 2017 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Buxton

Joy, Nikita, Hannah, Kat, Dave, John, Merel and me.

Only John I didn't mention before. He is not a member of the full time staff, but he works as a volunteer. We have made a small talk with him when filling the hay bags. He told us that he could say some Dutch words, but he spoke German instead. Haha.
As usual we started the day with feeding and mucking out the oldies stable. Then we got to experience a training course given by a man from the Donkey Sanctuary head office in Devon. The complete staff (that was present today) sat together in the training centre and ate lunch. The man from Devon started to discuss the current plan of action and procedures for the intake and adoption of the donkeys. Then he discussed what improvements and changes had to be made. He showed a video of a future donkey owner who kept on brushing the same spot over and over again. The man from Devon said that instead of finding the perfect donkey owner for every donkey, the Sanctuaries should train their donkeys in such a way that they are suitable for less experienced owners.
We went to the meadow where Kat had to show the rest how she caught the shy donkey she was working with. The donkey ran away from her, but that wasn't what the man from Devon was looking for. He said that this was just a momentum and because everyone was looking, Kat would approach the donkey different than if she would do it alone.
Back at the training centre he finished his presentation. During the course, the man was kind of ignoring that their were also two foreigners present. Maybe he didn't know what to say to us, but it was a bit annoying that he was 'looking through' us.
After the course, I bought some socks from the Donkey Sacntuary shop. Merel and I finished the day with filling the final straw bags. Joy handed us a Donkey Sanctuary certificate over and Merel took a group photo of the staff, Arnie and me.
We ended the day with an hour walk to the end of the road. England has those nice, stone walls surrounding every pasture. The view is beautiful!

This last day, I fulfilled three of my goals.
Talking went a lot easier today. During the breaks, we talked a bit more about the trip, the Netherlands, the Donkey Sanctuary. I finally came up with the questions I wanted to ask.
I learned about people's ignorance of donkeys and that the Donkey Sanctuary also teaches people how to properly care for a donkey.
Also, I felt motivated/energetic today! I don't know if it was because of today being the last day or if I just got a random boost.
I didn't succeed in getting the staff to know more about Dutch culture. I did not really know how to fulfill this goal, as I myself didn't know what the difference is between English and Dutch culture. Maybe English people are more friendly to strangers? It could also be that they were friendly, because Merel and I were quite young. I don't know. What I do know is that we gave them at least a package of stroopwafels, so did we gave Jane (the B&B owner).

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Fabiënne

Name | Fabiënne Age | 16 Country | The Netherlands Destination | The Donkey Sanctuary, Buxton What | Foreign Internship

Actief sinds 06 April 2017
Verslag gelezen: 186
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4839

Voorgaande reizen:

24 April 2017 - 29 April 2017

| The Donkey Sanctuary, Buxton |

Landen bezocht: